The Governing Body is made up of 12 governors including the Headteacher. Some are elected by parents, some are appointed by the Local Education Authority and some are co-opted by the Governing Body because of their interests, skills or experience. In addition, there are two staff representatives who are elected by the staff of the school.

The school does not have committees.  All governors attend all meetings – 10 per year – so that they have a good understanding of all aspects of the school and school life.

The Governors work in partnership with the Head and the staff of the school. As well as providing advice and acting as a link between the school and the local community, their main responsibilities are:

  • establishing the aims and policies of the school
  • to agree and allocate the school’s budget
  • to agree the school’s curriculum policy including the provision of religious education, special needs and Sex and Relationships education
  • the appointment of staff
  • the school’s organisation and discipline policy

Instrument of Governance  


Governors Attendance

Name Office held Appointed by Category of Governor Term of Office Relationship to Staff Business Interest Attendance 2021 2022
Mrs Sheila Sutton Chair of Governors Governors Co-opted



None None 10/10
Mrs Jill Jaques Vice-chair Governors Co-opted

15/07/2019 –


None None 9/10
Mrs Anna Szymoniak Parents Parent



None None 7/10
Mrs Claire Tilley Parents Parent  15/10/2019 – 16/10/2023 None None 7/10
Mrs Diana Bird Governors Co-opted 29/11/2019 – 30/11/2023 None None 9/10
Mrs Rebecca Bainbridge Headteacher Governors Headteacher Staff member 10/10
Mrs Gwen Burn Governors Co-opted

21/01/2019 –


Staff member 6/10
Mrs Angela Jones Staff Staff 12/01/2022 – 11/10/2026 Staff member 9/10
Miss Jane Gibson Governors  Local Authority



None Governor at Aiskew and Leeming Bar Primary School 9/10
Mrs Mandy Lambert Clerk to the Governors


Resigned Governors

Cllr Caroline Dickinson Governors Co-opted



 None 6/8 Resigned June 2022
Mrs Mary Foster Governors Co-opted  22/11/2017 – 22/11/2025 None Staff member 7/8 Resigned June 2022